Reptile Forum, Reptile Classifieds - CaptiveBred Forum Index Reptile Forum, Reptile Classifieds - CaptiveBred
A site to share your Reptile experiances & ask questions

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

I want a SLR camera
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Reptile Forum, Reptile Classifieds - CaptiveBred Forum Index -> Photography & Photos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ClactonJoe
Key Member

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 5:05 pm    Post subject: I want a SLR camera Reply with quote

All yous out there who have a knowledge of cameras.

I want to buy a digital SLR.
I can afford about £400-£500.
I have never used a SLR before properly. (People have given me theirs for me to point and shoot). (Don't even know what SLR stands for).

Will I get a decent one for this money?
Please can you help me choose one.

I would like to take some close-up pictures as well as day out pictures.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Go-on Have a Look...
http://www.mycampage.com/chameleon
Stuart
Forum Clown
Forum Clown

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could get a nice used nikon d200 or d80(even less) for that money..Great cameras,or you could get a new nikon d60,d40x...
On top of that you will need your lenses...a good macro lens will set you back anywhere from £180 for say a 50mm sigma up to £280 for the tamron 90mm..the 90mm would be the better length for animals as you would be practically touching the animal with a 50mm macro.. Laughing
The 18-70mm nikon lens s a great all round general lens and can be picked up used from £100-130..in fact sold mine yesterday..at the end of the day it all comes down to budget and what your main uses will be..I believe there is another company called canon that make some ok cameras too.. Razz Razz Laughing