Reptile Forum, Reptile Classifieds - CaptiveBred Forum Index Reptile Forum, Reptile Classifieds - CaptiveBred
A site to share your Reptile experiances & ask questions

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Dwarf monitors - diet?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Reptile Forum, Reptile Classifieds - CaptiveBred Forum Index -> Monitors - big & small!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
neep_neep
Key Member

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:43 pm    Post subject: Dwarf monitors - diet? Reply with quote

Hi all,

I'm brand new to the reptile keeping scene (and don't actually keep any at the moment...) but i've been creating my little list of things to research and potentially keep when circumstances allow (frogs, various geckos, uromastyx and chameleons are top of the list at the moment!) Wink

After browsing many a forum and herp site, and seeing an article about Kimberley Rocks in one of the recent Reptile Care Magazines, i've decided that I quite like the look of monitors (I can fully understand how people's herp collections can expand to pretty substantial sizes!)

Anyway, my problem is that I wouldn't be able to bring myself to feed rodents to my reps (personal choice having kept rats for 10 years...i'm not having a go at anybody, I have no problems with others doing it - after all, captive reptiles have got to eat! I just personally would not be able to do it! Embarassed Rolling Eyes )

So, in a bit of a rambley, roundabout way, are there any types of monitor kept in captivity in the UK which require a diet that doesn't include rodents? I have no problems with crickets/locusts etc. (however hypocritical that may seem Embarassed )

Of course, if there aren't any monitors with the sort of diet i'm suggesting, then no worries, I shall cross them off my list!

*sigh* Sad